Medical Marijuana Clinical Policy
What do I need to have with me for my appointment?
A working email, valid Florida ID, and a Florida address
What paperwork/forms are required to apply for the medical marijuana program in Florida?
In order to apply for a medical marijuana card in Florida you must have the following:
Proof of Florida residency, i.e. valid Florida ID, driver’s license, voter ID, utility bill with the same name on the application
- Medical records proving your medical condition
- Signed release of information form
- Certification from a licensed physician registered with the Florida Department of Health’s medical marijuana program
What can I expect at my first appointment?
For your initial certification appointment, you should arrive 10-15 minutes early. Please also note that free parking is available in front of and around our clinic. Since there is more involved in an initial appointment with our clinic, please allow for 45 minutes to an hour. Should you need a work or school excuse, we can provide one.
When you arrive, we’ll check your paperwork to ensure it’s filled out completely and everything is in order. If you see another doctor for your condition, we’ll have you complete a medical records form so we can send off for information documenting your condition. Then we’ll accept your payment (our services must be paid prior to them being rendered).
From there, you’ll be taken to the exam room and either the doctor or a medical assistant will take your vitals. The doctor will then perform a full physical examination and develop a treatment plan based upon the exam and your health history.
Once your exam is complete, we’ll schedule a recertification appointment before you leave if we qualify you under the Florida law. We will also open you an account on the MMUR for you.
How much are visits?
Initial Certification Visits
Initial certification visit costs $250
All 6-month follow-up visits are $150 each
For all visits, we accept Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, and cash.
How often do I need to see the doctor?
Under Florida law, patients must be seen for an in-person examination at a minimum of once every 6 months. Your initial appointment with the doctor begins the 6-month timer.
After your first recertification visit, provided you’re comfortable with your usage and dosage and aren’t undergoing active symptomology of your debilitating condition, we will schedule you for regular recertification visits every 180 days/6 months.
Do you accept insurance?
Because cannabis is still prohibited at a Federal level, we are unable to accept medical insurance. We are, however, legal medical practice and each patient will be provided with a receipt upon payment they can submit to their insurance companies for reimbursement if allowed.
We accept Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, and cash.
Florida Cannabis Cards, Applications, & General Program Questions
What are the qualifying medical conditions that make a person eligible for medical marijuana in Florida?
Currently there are 12 medical conditions specifically defined in the Florida medical marijuana initiative, but the Florida marijuana law also states that any medical condition in which the medical marijuana doctor believes that the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the potential health risks for a patient may be used as criteria when certifying a patient for the Florida medical marijuana program. The medical conditions specifically defined in Florida’s medical marijuana law are as follows:
- Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus.
- Acquired immune deficiency syndrome.
- Post-traumatic stress disorder.
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.
- Crohn’s disease.
- Parkinson’s disease.
- Multiple sclerosis.
- A Terminal Condition
- Chronic Pain
- Any other medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those enumerated
What if I am not suffering from any the conditions listed?
While ten different debilitating conditions are enumerated within the law, the state Constitution and the established law allows physicians the authority to certify patients who are suffering from “medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those enumerated” for which the physician believes the benefits to the patient would outweigh the risk.
Because cannabis has had no instances of fatality, has a small and predictable side effect profile, has very few drug interactions, and has shown promise in the treatment for many different ailments, a physician is able to certify a course of cannabis treatment for a wide variety of illnesses upon examination of the patient and review of the patient’s medical history.
For each medical condition of the same kind or class or as comparable to, the qualifying physician must send to their respective board:
- Documentation supporting the qualified physician’s opinion that the medical condition is of the same kind or class as the conditions in paragraphs (2)(a)-(j).
- Documentation that establishes the efficacy of marijuana as a treatment for the condition.
- Documentation supporting the qualified physician’s opinion that the benefits of the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the potential health risks for the patient.
- Any other documentation as required by board rule.
Possible examples of other conditions that may qualify:
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Auto-Immune diseases
- Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis
- Graves Disease
- Polyarthritis or Rheumatoid Arthritis
- Sjogren’s Syndrome
- Celiac Disease
- Chronic Fatigue Syndrome
- Chronic Nausea
- Chronic Pancreatitis
- Chronic Headaches
- Diabetic Neuropathy
- Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome
- Huntington’s Chorea
- Muscle Spasms
- Myesthenia Gravis
- Neuropathic Pain
- Panic Attack
- Restless Leg Syndrome
- Social Anxiety
- Tourette’s Syndrome
- Ulcerative Colitis
If I have my medical marijuana license from another state is it valid in Florida?
No. In order to be enrolled in the Florida medical marijuana program, you must be evaluated by a doctor who is licensed and certified as a marijuana doctor in Florida. Only patients entered into Florida’s Compassionate Use Registry database are allowed to purchase, possess and consume medical marijuana in Florida.
Is a medical marijuana certification the same as a medical marijuana referral?
Yes. A referral or recommendation have the same meaning as to certify or certification in Florida’s medical marijuana program.
What do I need in order to be certified for Florida's medical marijuana program?
In order to be certified for a medical marijuana card in Florida, you must have medical records proving that you have a medical condition that is on the list of qualifying medical conditions, or have a medical condition that the marijuana doctor believes the patient will benefit from medical marijuana, i.e. usually medical conditions requiring pain medication. If you do not have medical records you can ask us for help with obtaining medical records. Once medical records are obtained you must schedule a marijuana evaluation.
After the marijuana evaluation if the doctor is able to verify that the patient is eligible for the medical marijuana program the marijuana doctor will issue a certificate that is then sent to the Florida Department of Health and the patient is registered in the medical marijuana registry.
Can a minor enroll in the Florida medical marijuana program?
Yes. A minor can enroll in the Florida medical marijuana program, but must have the written consent of the parent or legal guardian, and must also get a marijuana certification from two doctors instead of one.
Is there a way to expedite my medical marijuana application?
No. In order to be fair the medical marijuana certifications or applications are processed in the order in which they are received. Although there should not be a problem as most applications are processed the day they are sent.
When will I know that my medical marijuana application was sent and approved?
After your evaluation the doctor will let you know whether or not you are eligible for the medical marijuana program, at which time your certification will be entered into the database and your card will be issued. You will also receive an email after your information is entered into the system.
How can I become a caregiver or assign one to myself?
Under the new law, Caregivers must be at least 21 years of age and (with a few exceptions) can only care for one patient at a time. Caregivers must agree in writing to assist with the qualified patient’s medical use of marijuana, be registered within the Medical Marijuana Use Registry as a caregiver, successfully complete a biannual caregiver certification course, and pass a background check if they’re not a close relative (spouse, parent, sibling, grandparent, child, or grandchild) of the patient.
Currently, the state allows up to two caregivers (Legal Representatives) to be assigned to patients within the Registry. Caregivers must apply and be approved for a Medical Marijuana Patient ID Card and must supply proof of Legal Representation status (certified birth certificate for minor children, or power of attorney or health care surrogate documentation.
Who should I contact if I have issues with the registry?
For question regarding the medical marijuana use registry (MMUR) please contact the MMUR at (800) 808-9580.
Florida Cannabis Card Expiry and Renewal
Does my medical marijuana card expire? How long is my medical marijuana card valid for?
Yes. The medical marijuana card is only valid for one year after the date in which the card is issued.
How do I renew my medical marijuana card?
In order to renew your medical marijuana card in Florida, you must visit a medical marijuana doctor and be reevaluated. After the evaluation, the medical marijuana doctor will issue a new medical marijuana certificate and a new application will be sent to the Florida Department of Health, who will then issue a new medical marijuana card.
In order to prevent any lapse in your legal protection, it is recommended that you apply for your new card at least 45 days before your current medical marijuana card expires.
When should I renew my medical marijuana card?
In order to prevent any lapse in legal protection, you should submit a new medical marijuana application at least 45 days prior to your current medical marijuana card’s expiration date to avoid any lapse in coverage.
Purchasing Medical Marijuana in Florida
When can I go to the dispensary?
Once you have received an receive temporary verification from the Office of Compassionate Use sent to their email from MMUR, contact us at Brinson Family Medicine immediately for your 6-month certification to be entered. At that time, you will be able to make your first purchase at the dispensary using that approval email.
Where can I legally purchase medical marijuana in Florida?
Before a patient can legally purchase medical marijuana in Florida the marijuana doctor will enter a recommended dosage amount into the registry. Once the doctor has recommended a dosage the medical marijuana patient can only purchase medical marijuana from licensed growers/dispensaries, also known as MMTCs. Any marijuana purchased outside of these sources is deemed illegal and is not protected under Florida’s medical marijuana law.
If I have my medical marijuana card, how much cannabis can I legally purchase and possess?
A patient is allowed to purchase and possess no more than what is recommended by the marijuana doctor. The marijuana doctor will enter a recommended amount to order for 45 days. The maximum the patient can purchase is 45 days worth. If a marijuana doctor recommends six ounces every 45 days then the patient is only allowed to purchase up to six ounces every 45 days.
Do I have to purchase the entire amount of medical marijuana as recommended by my medical marijuana doctor?
No. A patient can purchase however much medical marijuana that they want as long as it does not exceed the marijuana doctor’s recommendation.
What can cause me to lose my recommendation?
While the doctor may – at any point – revoke a patient’s certification for cannabis, the Department of Health may suspend or revoke the registration of a qualified patient or caregiver if the qualified patient or caregiver:
- Provides misleading, incorrect, false, or fraudulent information to the department;
- Obtains a supply of marijuana in an amount greater than the amount authorized by the physician certification;
- Falsifies, alters, or otherwise modifies an identification card;
Fails to timely notify the department of any changes to his or her qualified patient status; or
- Violates the requirements of this section or any rule adopted under this section
Additionally, the Department of Health has the legal authority to do the following:
- The department shall immediately suspend the registration of a qualified patient/caregiver charged with a violation of chapter 893 until final disposition of any alleged offense. Thereafter, the department may extend the suspension, revoke the registration, or reinstate the registration.
- The department shall immediately suspend the registration of any caregiver charged with a violation of chapter 893 until final disposition of any alleged offense. The department shall revoke a caregiver registration if the caregiver does not meet the stipulated requirements.
- The department may revoke the registration of a qualified patient or caregiver who cultivates marijuana or who acquires, possesses, or delivers marijuana from any person or entity other than a medical marijuana treatment center.
I’m traveling to another legal state. What do I need to do to get medications?
Different states have different qualification stipulations but if you’re traveling to a state with a legal medical cannabis program, let us know. We can provide you with a letter of medical necessity signed by your physician that is generally accepted by dispensaries in other states.